From The Fishbowl

Scribbles about stuff

Almost

Hello.

Today I released the fifth and final preview of my short story anthology Not Quite Normal. As I announced last week, the anthology will be out next Wednesday, 29/2/12. The new preview is called The Helper – Part 1 and I will love you forever if you’d be so kind as to download it and help me spread the word a little.

If you’re wondering, Parts 2 and 3 will be released in Not Quite Normal. All three are – obviously – part of the same tale, but each is also perfectly readable as a standalone story. It’s kind of like Star Wars – they make sense individually, but it works on a new level if they’re read at the same time. I hope you enjoy it. I really like the story (ego alert).

I thought I’d divulge a little more information on Not Quite Normal this evening, since we’re in the home stretch.

As I’ve said numerous times, there will be two different versions of Not Quite Normal released. The first will be totally free. What I haven’t said before is how many stories that will include. Well, I’m going to say now – nine. That’s the five previews plus four new ones. I don’t quite know how many words that will come to, but I’d estimate around 20,000. For free. Nice, yeah?

The paid edition will include all of the free stories, of course, plus ten more. On top of that, there will be some bonus material. There’ll be a section where I explain some of my writing methods and thought processes etc, for one. I’m going to include a first draft of one of the stories in NQN, called Red, because it’s so dramatically different from the finished article and will hopefully give the reader some idea of my editing process. I may or may not even include some poetry that I’ve written, if I’ve got enough balls come publishing time. All in all, I’m estimating that the full version of Not Quite Normal will come to about 50,000 words. Give or take, obviously.

And the price? As promised, it will be low and under a couple of quid. All things being equal, it’ll be $1.99 – according to Google, that’s £1.27 on today’s exchange rate. I think that’s probably a decent price for 50,000 words that I’ve been working on for the past five years, wouldn’t you agree? But I may reduce it for the first few days – Smashwords has a coupon system that I may experiment with – to try and tempt some more people.

My aims for the project are modest and – I like to think – realistic. I have no idea how many people are going to download Not Quite Normal, but I’m hoping for a handful. I’ll be blunt – I need to have sold $10 worth of product to get paid by Smashwords. That’s 6 copies at $1.99 in order to push it over the limit. That’s translating approximately 10% of the people who’ve downloaded previews into full purchases. I think that’s achieveable. Maybe. If I can get that then I’ll be a happy man. If more people than that buy it, I’ll be ecstatic. I’ll be honest, though, I’m nervous.

Anyway. If you want to help (God knows I need it!), please retweet, share on Facebook, download the previews and generally help me to get the word out. If you do something for me, even a retweet of one of my plugs, email me – srynhart@gmail.com is what you need – and I’ll shower you with praise and perhaps some sort of reward. I really want this to work and, as I said, all it will take is six people paying less than $2 to make me the happiest man on the planet.

I’ll leave before I start to sound desperate. I don’t mean to, but I do genuinely care about this project and want it to work. Hopefully, you know that.

Thanks, as ever, for reading.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

