From The Fishbowl

Scribbles about stuff

Onwards!

Hello.

I’ve been overwhelmed by the support – or, at the very least, interest – that Not Quite Normal has been getting. (If you don’t know what NQN is, I recommend you check out this previous post, which should explain everything.) If you’re one of the people who downloaded Tomahawk, viewed this blog for the first time or just posted and RTed links, then thank you so much. It means a lot to me. I hope I can keep your attention for the next few weeks at least.

With that in mind, I now have a strategy for the release of Not Quite Normal. I uploaded a new story today, the second official preview. Well, the first preview, technically, since Tomahawk was only a test, but you get the gist.

The new story is called Endeavour and can be downloaded from Smashwords right now for the low, low price of free. This one has a cover and legal bits at the front and everything.

(Speaking of the cover, the image is from Flickr and used under a Creative Commons Attribution license. It’s properly credited in the book, but I’ll credit it here too. It’s from Flickr user ‘sensechange’, and you can find the original right here. It just caught my eye.)

Endeavour is a story I wrote at University, and it’s intended to be a cross between the theme of Frankenstein with the narrative format of Dracula. Both great books, incidentally, although you probably don’t need me to tell you that. I won’t say much else about the story since it’s pretty short (it is, after all a SHORT STORY) and I don’t want to spoil it. But it’s one of my favourite pieces and – I must say – one of the highest-marked stories I wrote at Uni. So it must do something right (write?).

Anyway, strategy. I have a release date for the final version of Not Quite Normal, though I’m keeping that to myself for the time being in case of unexpected circumstances. But it’s relatively soon and perhaps quite obvious. I’ve also decided to put up a new sample story every ten days or so. Obviously, since Endeavour is up today, you’ll be able to get the next one towards the end of next week (or maybe the weekend).

Announcing the anthology the other day has given me a huge kick up the backside. I’m being more productive than I have been for a long while. I’ve already gotten first drafts of two new short stories in the books (HA HA I MADE A TERRIBLE PUN) and ideas niggling me like a mosquito bite to my frontal lobe for more.

Things are going great, basically. So thank you again. Even if this whole project ends up falling flat on its face come the release of the actual anthology, I’ll know that I’ve tried my damndest to get it right, to get it perfect. And I know that there are some people out there who are interested in what little ol’ me is up to. It’s so nice.

Until next time!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

